Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Harrison principal resigns

June 29, 2013
By ROBERT A. DEFRANK - Special to the Herald-Star , The Herald-Star

CADIZ - The Harrison Hills City School Board Thursday night approved the resignation of Sandra Leggett, principal at Harrison East Elementary, effective July 31.

Leggett has worked in the district for more than 30 years as a teacher, intervention teacher, and has served as a principal for five years at the middle and elementary school levels, leading the largest elementary school in the district.

She headed Harrison East Elementary during the consolidation process that combined three schools.

Leggett said the success of students has always been her top priority.

"At each level of employment, whether it was teaching or administration, I think one of the biggest, most important things to me has always been the students," she said.

She credited staff members for their hard work, innovation and cooperation, and the community for their enthusiasm and support.

She will take up principal's position in Carroll County. She said the location will allow her to spend more time with children and grandchildren.

"You have done tremendous things at East. We're going to miss you," said board President Deborah Kenny.

Her post will be assumed by Bert Tharp, dean of students at Harrison East.

He has 28 years of experience in education He said he is looking forward to continuing programs and encouraging the improvement of test scores.

Tharp will continue prepare for the new school year.

The board approved the resignation of Ashley Baur, teacher, effective Sunday.

Board members also:

Approved supplemental contracts for the 2013-14 school year including Angela Carlier, varsity cheerleader adviser; Patrick Dunlap, flag adviser; Missy Yoho, volleyball, seventh grade; Eric Sheets, boys soccer; and Chuck Lewis, VLA science; Mike Valesko, varsity assistant football; Mike Palmer, varsity assistant football; Blake Allen, varsity assistant football; Cain Noble, reserve football; Bryce Allen, freshmen football; Ian Watt, freshman football assistant; Orion Bengier, junior high football assistant; Terra Frye, reserve cheerleaders; and Lisa Wentling, yearbook book adviser.

Approved Justin Davia as the MH aide for the summer enrichment program.

Approved Todd Dunlap and Rob Richards for summer OGT intervention and test information for social studies and science.

Approved volunteer supplemental coaches for the 2013-14 school year including Cassie Bellerive and Maryann Hart, marching band; Rob Copeland and Nick Baur, varsity football; and Marcy Dunlap, varsity cheerleading.

Approved Laura Cope as the MIECHV Home Visitor through Help Me Grow effective May 24.

Approved Rebecca Hajiran as the school psychologist from Sept. 1 through July 31, 2015.

Approved the employment of Bryce Allen, sevent- to 12th-grade science teacher; Kelly Snider, first grade teacher at Harrison East; Samantha McIntosh, intervention specialist; and Lisa Wentline, art teacher.

Approved a leave of absence for Steve Cook and Adrienne Cook for the 2013-2014 year.

Approved the employment of Linda Trushel as the nurse supervisor four hours per week beginning Aug. 19 through May 30.

Approved re-employment of Cortney Yarish, Courtney Erdos and Samantha Cappuccio in Help Me Grow and Tiffany Stock in Family and Children First, all for one-year limited contracts for the 2013-2014 school year.

Approved the return to work of Julie Dickerson from a medical leave of absence, effective June 1.

Approved the assignment of Kathy Pelegreen as head cook at Harrison North and Dean Carter as bus driver for the district for the 2013-2014 school year.

Approved re-employing Luke Turner as an intervention specialist and Mike Palmer as a physical education and ealth teacher at Harrison Junior -Senior High School for the 2013-2014 year.

The treasurer was authorized to complete and file paperwork to the Ohio Division of Unclaimed Funds concerning property for $25 and property for $144.34. The holder reporting funds for both is Pitney Bowes Bank Inc.

Members also approved an athletic petty cash checking account to pay officials and security personnel who perform services at athletic events during the 2013-14 school year. Raymond Hibbs, athletic director, will maintain the records and work in cooperation with the treasurer.

The maximum amount to be paid to an official is $500. A list approved by the treasurer or assistant treasurer must be provided prior to any payment.

The board approved a contract for Damon's from July 1 through June 30, 2014, and a cooperative agreement with the Jefferson County Board of Developmental Disabilities for the 2013-2014 school year.

Sheila Koch was approved to the Puskarich Public Library Board from Jan. 1 through Dec. 31.

Members approved a memorandum of understanding with HHTA regarding professional development; the teacher evaluation system; the Puskarich Library budget request for the 2014 budget year; and a transition agreement with Harcatus Head Start for children who will transition to kindergarten for the 2013-2014 school year.

The board agreed to enter into a contract with Pisanick Partners LLC for food service; approved enrollment into group retrospective rating for workers' compensation with CompManagmenet Inc. from Jan. 1, 2014, through Dec. 31, 2014; awarded the bid for the window well project at the high school to Pappy's Construction Inc.; approved temporary appropriations for fiscal year 2014; approved a contract for the operation of the Jefferson Regional Spectrum Center for the 2013-2014 school year, as well as a memorandum of understanding for National Webcheck or Webcheck 4.00 program services and equipment to continue to provide Webchecks to employees; approved an agreement with Jefferson County ESC for occupational therapy services for fiscal year 2014; approved payment in lieu of bus transportation to parents who sent letters announcing their child would attend a school where transportation was impractical; approved payment for eligible pupils participating in post- secondary enrollment options for the 2012-2013 school year; and approved next school year's handbook.

I am looking for: