Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Indian Creek honors students

May 22, 2013
By JESS LOOMAN - Staff correspondent , The Herald-Star

WINTERSVILLE - Staff and faculty members as well as family and friends were on hand Tuesday evening to witness the Indian Creek High School Class of 2013 receive awards, honors and scholarships.

Terri Starkey, high school teacher, welcomed the students and their guests to St. Florian Hall during the annual senior awards banquet.

She congratulated the seniors on their accomplishments and wished them luck on their future endeavors.

"You are here because you succeeded, but remember you did not do this alone," she said. "Thank your parents and other family members, friends and educators and remember that your education is not a luxury but a necessity. You were not born knowing how to read, write, subtract, add, but someone taught you, believed in you and encouraged you. Do not take this for granted. Ignorance is bondage and knowledge is freedom. Value it. Listen to good advice."

Commencement will be held at 7 p.m. Friday at the Indian Creek Middle School.

The following awards were presented:

Senior class officers: Breyanne Mays, Isaac Foldi, Brooke Piergallini and Karli Wilson.

Ohio High School Athletic Conference athlete: Anthony Young and Zoe Weaver.

OHSAA Archie Griffin Sportsmanship: Shane Winland and Breyanne Mays.

OHSAA/NFSHA award of excellence: Isaac Foldi and Brooke Piergallini.

D.A.R.E. Good Citizen Contest, Kasey Celestin; "I Dare You" award: Isaac Foldi and Kasey Celestin; and Wendy's High School Heisman: Breyanne Mays and Alexander Young.

Students awarded the state Award of Merit included Kasey Celestin, Ali Collaros, Jared Conn, Margaret Davis, LeeAnn Doty, Taylor Fante, Levi Flesher, Isaac Foldi, Page Fowler, Emily Frazer, Ian Gambill, Brandon Hammack, Jacob Mamula, Megan Markja, Breyanne Mays, Alyssa Moran, Brooke Piergallini, Hannah Siemer, Nicholas Stewart, James Travis, Andrea Trice, Zoe Weaver, Karli Wilson, Kennedy Wilson and Evan Winfield. President's award of excellence was presented to Ashley Bolitho, Kasey Celestin, Taylor Fante, Levi Flesher, Brandon Galowina, Darren Gribble, Emily Kauk, Jacob Mamula, Megan Markja, Alyssa Moran, Macy Sanitcola, Andrea Trice, Karli Wilson and Anthony Young. The Principal's leadership award went to Megan Markja while the Hugh O'Brien Leadership award was presented to Kasey Celestin.

Those receiving recognition for the senior National Honor Society were Kasey Celestin, Ali Collaros, Jared Conn, Taylor Fante, Page Fowler, Matthew Furda, Courtney Hatcher, Frank Kamarec, Jacob Mamula, Megan Markja, Breyanne Mays, Trevor McDonald, Alyssa Mo-ran, Brooke Piergallini, Hannah Siemer, Amber Travis, Zoe Weaver, Karli Wilson, Evan Winfield, Shane Winland, Alexander Young and Anthony Young.

Community awards went to Anthony Young and Andrea Trice, U.S. Army Scholar-Athlete; Ashley Bolitho, Darren Gribble, Ali Collaros and Miranda Reed, U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic, Athletic and Music awards; Miranda Reed, U.S. Navy Post 911 GI Bill scholarship; Karli Wilson, Wintersville Women's Club scholarship; Cassaundra Sanchez, Glenda Dunlope scholarship; Ian McIntosh, Wintersville Women's Club scholarship to EGCC; Isaac Foldi, Wintersville Women's Club/Franciscan University of Steubenville scholarship, Franciscan University commuter grant and Franciscan University Leadership center scholarship; Page Fowler, Anne M. Nixon Memorial award; Karli Wilson, Wintersville Elementary School PTO scholarship; Brooke Piergallini, Jefferson County Farm Bureau scholarship and Italian-American Cultural Club scholarship; Brandon Hammack, Shane Winland and Ashley Martin, Joe Fortunato scholarship; Shawn Roe Jr., Ricky Treglia scholarship; Alex LaRue, Albert B. Teramana Memorial scholarship; Ashley Bolitho, Kristen Robinson Johnson Memorial scholarship; Brooke Piergallini, Steubenville Kiwanis award; Kasey Celestin and Brooke Piergallini, Indian Creek Key Club scholarship; Breyanne Mays, Indian Creek Education Association scholarship; Ashley Santoro, Alicia Bane Memorial scholarship; Breyanne Mays and Brooke Piergallini, student council scholarship; Kristin Summy, Barkhurst scholarship; Emily Kauk and Alyssa Moran, Bob and Carol Oklok scholarship; Alyssa Moran, EGCC academic scholarship; Ali Collaros and Ashley Santoro, Judy Custer Memorial scholarship; Brooke Piergallini, SADD scholarship; Bro-oke Piergallini and Ali Collaros, Friends of Indian Creek scholarship; Brooke Piergallini, Rotary Club "Service Above Self" scholarship; Andrea Trice, Unionport Grange /Apple Stirrin' scholarship; Karli Wilson, Wintersville Alumni Classes of 1971/1972 scholarship; Ali Collaros, Wintersville Class of 1982 class reunion scholarship; Morgan Rupert, Lydell Freeman, Ian McIntosh and Courtney Darling, Canvas for Kids scholarship; Ashley Bolitho, Medical Mutual of Ohio scholarship; Jacob Mamula, Megan Markja, Cassaundra Sanchez and Kristin Summy, Pugliese scholarship; Jared Conn, Ariana Cozart, Lydell Freeman, Zoe Weaver and Shane Winland, Indian Creek Foundation scholarship; Courtney Darling, Eugene "Keat" Rensi Memorial scholarship; Breyanne Mays, Richard Cosentino Mem-orial scholarship; Brandon Galownia, Comcast Leaders and Achievers scholarship; Ali Collaros, Ohio Business and Professional Women's Club and eSchoolView scholarship; Taylor Fante, Maryanne Pflug Memorial scholarship; Courtney Darling, Geno Morelli Memorial scholarship; Alex Young, OVAC Basketball Game scholarship; and Kasey Celestin, Courtney Darling, Karli Wilson and Anthony Young, Clancey Family Scholarship.

Individual scholarship recognition from colleges and agencies included:

Ashley Bolitho: Ohio Dominican University Merit Scholarship, Ohio Dominican University Grant and Arion Award in Music.

Kasey Celestin: Masonic Temple Scholarship, Honors Scholarship to Edinboro State University and Director's Award in Music.

Jared Conn: Lewis Armstrong Award in Music, Jefferson County Winner on Americanism and Government Test and one of two Indian Creek seniors scoring highest on the Americanism and Government Test.

Levi Flesher: President's Scholarship to Youngstown State University.

Isaac Foldi: John Phillip-Sousa Award in Music.

Brandon Galowina: The Provost Scholarship at Ohio State University, Morrill Scholars Program Excellence Scholarship at OSU and acceptance to the Honors College of Engineering at OSU.

Darren Gribble: Academic Excellence Scholarship to West Virginia University and Engineering Achievement Scholarship to WVU.

Brandon Hammack: Scholarship to WVU.

Jacob Mamula: Presidential Scholarship to the Honors College at Mount Union University.

Megan Markja: One of two Indian Creek seniors scoring highest on the Americanism and Government Test.

Alyssa Moran: Tom Dohnal Scholarship.

Brooke Piergallini: OSU Alumni scholarship and OSU Jefferson County Alumni scholarship.

Cassaundra Sanchez: Diversity Scholarship to WVU and Mountaineer Scholarship to WVU.

Andrea Trice: WVU Blue and Gold Level I scholarship.

Karli Wilson: Trustees scholarship to Baldwin Wallace University and Dr. and Mrs. Lewis Music scholarship.

Anthony Young: Red Hawk Excellence scholarship to Miami University of Ohio, Red Hawk grant to Miami University of Ohio and Schweikart Family Memorial scholarship.

I am looking for: