Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

‘For the love of art,’ SAA starts new year

October 12, 2012
By JANICE R. KIASKI - Community editor ( , The Herald-Star

"We come together as a group because of our love of art" are the opening words Anne Wagner has written pure and simple as part of the "Letter from the President" page in the 2012-13 Steubenville Art Association program booklet and membership directory.

Wagner is the association's president now who in her letter encourages members to participate in the club's upcoming meetings, workshops and activities.

These program books were distributed when the association had its opening dinner meeting Sept. 19 at St. Florian Hall where I was happy to be a guest, seated at Wagner's table in between her daughter, Patty Westfall, the association's scholarship chairwoman, and my "office mother" and retired HS community editor Marian Houser.

Article Photos

Steubenville Art Association officers include, from left, seated, Marnee Muhlman, vice president; Anne Wagner, president; Donna Cionni, treasurer; and standing, Arlene MacQuown, corresponding secretary; Patty Westfall, scholarship chairwoman; Jim Watson, spring show chairman; Kim Hohlmayer, recording secretary; and Jeanne D’Anniballe, publicity chairman.

And I was happy, too, not only to be in good company with the talented members of the art association, but to be on hand to hear Lillian Brue, at left, who gave an animated presentation about the recently released Steubenville Fun Map, a 36-by-24-inch snapshot of life in our community that immortalizes more than 100 civic leaders, businesses and institutions.

Brue designed the map and shared the creative process behind it.

If you haven't seen one of these, you should check it out. They're really great, and I am excited to see how the next one pans out as it will take in other communities, including Richmond, my hometown.

Organized in 1946 and incorporated April 25, 1963, the art association meets at Historic Fort Steuben, 120 S. Third St., Steubenville, on the third Wednesday of the month September through December and March through June. Yearly dues are $20.

The association kicks off its first workshop of the year, this one a porcelain beads workshop for members and non-members. It will be held from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Wednesday at the Historic Fort Steuben. If you're interested in attending, contact Marnee Muhleman at (330) 340-4577 for details. The cost is $40. The event is a brown bag lunch.

Also on the calendar are:

Monday through Oct. 27: A three-man show at Eastern Gateway Community College;

Nov. 26-Dec. 7: A holiday show at EGCC.

Jan. 21-Feb. 1: A three-man show at EGCC.

Nov. 17: Meeting at 7 p.m. with Robert Vannatta of Walnut Creek, "Transparent Watercolor," the topic for his workshop that same day from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Dec. 19: Christmas party at 6 p.m. at St. Florian Hall.

March 20: The 7 p.m. meeting will feature a presentation by Mary "Sis" Keenan of New Cumberland on "The How To's of Art Fairs."

April 17: The 7 p.m. meeting is a "Show and Tell/Critique" inviting members to share a favorite possession and tell why it means so much. "Friendly advice" also will be available for those needing some help with a current project. A workshop the same day from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. will feature a watercolor presentation by Martha Davis Rice.

May 15: The 7 p.m. meeting will be a demonstration of armatures and celuclay sculpture with a workshop of the same topic the same day from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

June 19: The 7 p.m. meeting features Wayne Chunat of Malvern discussing "Acrylics as Watercolor," the same theme for that day's workshop from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The dates for receiving entries and the spring art show at EGCC will be announced.

Aside from Wagner and Westfall, officers are: Marnee Muhlman, vice president; Donna Cionni, treasurer; Kim Hohlmayer, recording secretary; Arlene MacQuown, corresponding secretary; Jeanne D'Anniballe, publicity chairman; and Jim Watson, spring show chairman.

Trustees are Mary Household and Jim Gorney, through 2013; Wagner and Muhleman, through 2014; and Martha Orbovich and MacQuown, through 2015.

I am looking for: