Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

OVAC football teams announced

June 10, 2012
By SETH STASKEY - Special to the Herald-Star

BETHANY - Camp for the 65th annual Rudy Mumley OVAC All-Star Charity Football Classic opens six weeks from today.

The head coaches - Ohio's Eric Schumacher (Conotton Valley) and West Virginia's Doug Taylor (Madonna) - have formally announced their rosters for the July 29th contest.

Each squad is comprised of 33 of the finest senior players from throughout the OVAC, which will spend a week together at Bethany College in preparation for the game, which West Virginia has captured the last two seasons.

Article Photos

The West Virginia coaching staff spent a lot of time reviewing films and talking to coaches as it made its selections for the game.

"It was a daunting task to say the least," Taylor said. "A lot of schools had great seasons with a lot of great, deserving players. It's certainly a tough task, but we feel we've got 33 pretty good players. We feel like we got a lot of high character kids, too, which

is something we were definitely looking for."

Fact Box


Elliott Albert, Martins Ferry

Zane Ayouch, Union Local

Eric Black, Meadowbrook

Michael Camilletti, Steubenville

Shane Crum, Shenandoah

Mike Dalto, Bridgeport

Josh Davis, Bellaire

Josten Dear, Buckeye Local

Tyler Fitzpatrick, Barnesville

Mike Furda, Indian Creek

Matt Hammond, Shadyside

Brandyn Heath, Beallsville

William Houst, Steubenville

David Kemp, Indian Creek

Tyler Kinchen, Monroe Central

Cory Kotopka, St. Clairsville

Anthony Kuhn, St. Clairsville

DaShaun Lewis, Cambridge

Leshawn Luke, Steubenville

Richie Padyjasek, Martins Ferry

Brannt Pieniazek, Steubenville CC

Greg Ring, Buckeye Local

Tanner Roller, Cambridge

Seth Rutledge, Conotton Valley

Bryan Sawyer, Caldwell

Matt Shurina, Harrison Central

Tyrel Simmons, Martins Ferry

Cole Smelley, Bridgeport

Jesse Stoudt, Barnesville

Marky Thompkins, East Liverpool

Juwan Whetstone, Bellaire

C.J. Williams, Martins Ferry

C.J. Wise, Monroe Central

Head Coach: Eric Schumacher, Conotton Valley.


Vondel Bell, Wheeling Park

Daniel Berry, Morgantown

Andrew Beveridge, Bishop Donahue

Gino Bianconni, Wheeling Central

Robert Downing, Brooke

Matt Carter, Wheeling Park

Evan Cline Tyler, Consolidated

Dylan Davis, Oak Glen

Neil Drennan, Linsly

Timmy Faulkner, Brooke

Aaron Fonner, John Marshall

Karl Gall, University

Kyle Gillis, Bishop Donahue

Erik Gompers, Wheeling Central

Derek Hinkle, Clay-Battelle

Jeff Hissam, Oak Glen

Adam Jones, Linsly

Ricky Jordan, Linsly

Jayson Keller, Magnolia

Bentley Knight, Magnolia

Boo Lathon, Wheeling Park

Zack Massie, Brooke

Lucas McDowell, Oak Glen

Kevin Minehart, Morgantown

Ryan Mozingo, Madonna

Taylor Neely, Cameron

Lee Peluchette, Wheeling Park

Christian Roe, Madonna

David Stanley, Wheeling Central

Darren Starr, Weir

Eli Stewart, Wheeling Park

Taylor Still, Paden City

Brandon Talhammer, Parkersburg South

Head Coach: Doug Taylor, Madonna

Taylor selected two of his own players from last year's Madonna squad in Ryan Mozingo and Christian Roe.

After getting his own players chosen, Taylor went right to the Mountain State's big schools. Of his remaining 31 spots, 13 went to either Wheeling Park, Brooke, Morgantown, University, John Marshall or Parkersburg South.

The Patriots, who advanced to the second round of the playoffs before falling to Bridgeport, will be represented by Boo Lathon, Vondel Bell, Lee Peluchette, Eli Stewart and Matt Carter.

Brooke's trio of players includes Robert Downing, Timmy Faulkner and Zack Massie.

Linsly, which finished its season with a spotless 10-0 record and the OVAC 2A title, had three players chosen, including Ricky Jordan, Neil Drennan and Adam Jones.

Wheeling Central, which claimed the West Virginia Class A State Championship, also had three players selected. The Knights who will take part are Gino Bianconi, Erik Gompers and David Stanley.

"We picked this team defense first and we started with the defensive line," Taylor said. "When we got to the offensive group, we also went with line first. We hope we don't have anyone playing both ways in this game. We're excited to get to camp and see what we have."

The Ohio coaching staff has had not only the task of picking players, but Schumacher was hired for this job after Mike Bigler resigned as Rockets' head coach earlier this spring.

However, most of the roster had been basically put together prior to the change.

"We're still waiting on a couple of kids (to commit), to be honest," Schumacher said. "We had a few kids turn it down, but most of the kids realize what kind of honor it is to play in this game and they're looking forward to taking advantage of it and getting to camp."

The Buckeye State roster is deep in the skill positions, which is exactly the approach Schumacher and Bigler took during the selection process.

"There was a lot of talent in the OVAC again this year," Schumacher said. "We've got some good-looking kids at the skill positions, and I think that will be a strength of our team. I really think we've got some guys who will allow us to move the ball up and down the field."

Schumacher's roster represents 20 of the conference's schools, including Seth Rutledge from the Rockets.

Martins Ferry leads the way, on the Ohio side, with four players taking part.

The Purple Riders chosen for the contest are Elliott Albert, Richie Padyjasek, Tyrel Simmons and C.J. Williams.

Steubenville is the only other Ohio school with as many as three selections. Representing Big Red are Michael Camilletti, William Houst and Leshawn Luke.

I am looking for: