Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Spring exhibit award winners named

May 11, 2012
By JANICE R. KIASKI - Community editor ( , The Herald-Star

If you're interested to see local talent on local display, by all means head to Eastern Gateway Community College through May 19.

There you will find tangible evidence of some delightful works by local artists, all of them part of the Steubenville Art Association's 66th-annual regional spring exhibit.

The show chaired by Jim Watson opened May 5 with a reception where Sheila Riffle of EGCC welcomed visitors and noted the college has now served as host of the show for 18 years and gladly so.

Article Photos

Merit award winners are, from left, seated, Diana Holcombe, Virginia Price, Catherine Kendrick and April Waltz, and standing, Greg Siegwart, Gatts/Wilson Memorial Award, Paul Hornung and Jim Watson.
-- Janice R. Kiaski

Then came the announcement of award winners by Jeanne D'Anniballe, the club's publicity chairman.

John Hubbard took Best of Show honors with his work entitled "Sea Scape."

Merit awards went to Anne Foreman, Diana Holcombe, Paul Hornung, Catherine Kendrick, Virginia Price, Martha Davis Rice, April Waltz and Jim Watson.

Honorable mentions went to Laura Andreini, Ada Clark, Tammy Verhovec Jefferies, Cheryl Joseph, Mary E. Keenan, Dona McCloskey, Michelle A. Mulligan, Liz Neumann, Bill Rettig and Paula Siebieda.

In the special awards category, Greg Siegwart got the Gatts/Wilson Memorial Award, while Denise Gordon received the Donald and Alberta Miller Memorial Award.

Wayne Chunat, a retired naturalist and park administrator, served as the juror.

Kelsey Bable of Brooke High School was awarded the association's $500 scholarship award. She'll be attending West Liberty University.

Laura Thrasher, association president, offered welcoming remarks to the audience. In addition to Thrasher and D'Anniballe, other officers are Marnee Muhleman, vice president; Donna Cionni, treasurer; Nancy Morris, recording secretary; Arlene MacQuown, corresponding secretary; and Patty Westfall, scholarship chairwoman.

Organized in 1946 and incorporated April 25, 1963, the association meets at Historic Fort Steuben, 120 S. Third St., Steubenville, on the third Wednesday of the month September through December and March through June.

Some events on the calendar include:

Its club history was included in the program booklet, explaining that "many years ago a woman named Emma Hayhurst came into the lives of the folks in the Ohio Valley. She was an artist from the time she was a child. Although she had suffered from polio and was crippled her mind was made up. She adopted the words 'I will," and she did! She planted the seed of 'art.' The Steubenville Art Association was formed 66 years ago."

The club has held an exhibit every year since and is a group whose members enjoy learning and painting together.

And there's always room for more to get involved.

Contact Thrasher at (740) 537-5177 for information.

Annual rates for sponsors and memberships include: corporate, $55; patron, $35; active member single, $20; and $30, active couple.

Checks can be made payable to the Steubenville Art Association and mailed to membership chairman, P.O. Box 1061, Steubenville OH 43952.

I am looking for: