Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Apple princess crowned; festival continues

October 1, 2011
By ESTHER MCCOY - Staff writer ( , The Herald-Star

SMITHFIELD - A cold, windy rain could not dampen the spirits of the 10 young ladies competing for the title of Apple Blossom princess at the 39th annual Apple Festival Friday.

Carissa Hennen, 9, daughter of Regina and David Hennen of Smithfield, selected a red apple from the covered apples and was crowned the princess. Her sister, Abigail, 11, was in competition with her.

Mayor Pat Freeland gave the welcome and John Domenick served as the emcee, interviewing the 10 candidates.

After the crowning, Gilbert Powell once again sang his rendition of "Here She is Miss America" as the princess walked back and forth across the stage.

Buckeye North Elementary School poster contest winners were announced by Freeland.

First grade: Nicole Zullo, Makayla Higgins and Eliannah Hill. Second grade: Bailey Ebright, Hester Lambright, Allison Trekel. Third grade: Ethan Devore, Caleb Bonar and Megan Valuska. fourth grade: Zac Cesario, Emily Berry, Gina Barber; Fifth grade: Lillie Still, Candace Bailey and Sara Lambright. Sixth grade: Danielle Castner, Mallory Reed and Cameron Carothers.

North Elementary scarecrow winners were:

Lillie Still, Tristyn Kontra and Shayne Christian, first; James Shell and Noah Staten, second; Michaela Greene, Caryle Semperik, Abby Nightengale, third; Katie Rogers, Angel Wilson, Faythe Flaherty and Joanna Pastre, fourth; and Emily Burrier and Sarah Lambright, fifth.

Buckeye West Elementary School artist winners were:

Neatest art: Danielle Kirk, first; Sophia Smith, second; Joaquin Abil, third. Poems: Sean Kibic, first; Caleb Pintarich, second; Donovan Simeral, third.

Coloring: Abby Bilinsky, first and best of show; Kya DeMeter, second; Halie Marshall, third.

Colorful: Ashleigh Sherman, first; Briana Brokaw, second; Heaven Wilkerson, third.

Original: Andrew Clelland, first; Elijah Lovell, second; Gavin Sefsick, third.

Best imagination: Kylie Parsons, Marley Basich and Torrie Winland.

The Saturday events begin with a car show registration at 9 a.m.; pet parade at 10 a.m.; apple bake off with the auction of the judged products, 11 a.m. Magician, 1 p.m. pie eating contest, 2 p.m.; and hot dog eating contest, 2:30 p.m.

Stone Street Station will entertain at 3:30 p.m.; the parade will go from the stadium complex to the former Northwest Elementary School at 5 p.m.; Jessica Harr will sing at 6 p.m. and Moodist Colony will perform at 8 p.m.

The Rollback Band, a group that has had all but one member intact for 37 years, performed after the presentations.

I am looking for: